News graphic

Front Range Community College is the newest member of the Rocky Mountains Cooperative Ecosystems Study Unit, a consortium of nine federal agencies and now 17 research and educational institutions in the Rocky Mountain West.

“This partnership provides a mechanism for FRCC to receive funding for projects on federal lands or in partnership with federal agencies,” said Jennifer Lee, coordinator of the Natural Resources Program at FRCC’s Larimer Campus. “The partnership could support ecological research projects, paid internships for students, and social science and cultural resource assistance.”

Lee said students in other programs, such as business, also could benefit from partnership opportunities.

The Natural Resources Program already offers field study in a 100-acre “school forest” in Red Feather Lakes for timber cruising, soil studies, and snowshoe hare counts for the Colorado lynx reintroduction project. Students conduct wildlife habitat management and fisheries research at several public-land locations, such as Watson Lake State Wildlife Area and Soapstone Natural Area. Students also work in 10 forestry study plots in Horsetooth Mountain Park.

The mission of the Rocky Mountains Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (RM-CESU) is to improve and disseminate the knowledge base for managing natural and cultural resources in the rapidly changing social, cultural, and environmental landscape of the Rocky Mountain Region, and to extend its expertise to national issues where appropriate.

The RM-CESU is one of 17 CESUs in the United States. The University of Montana is the host institution.

RM-CESU education partners

University of Montana

Montana State University

University of Idaho

Utah State University

Washington State University

Salish Kootenai College

University of Wyoming

University of Colorado-Boulder

University of Colorado-Denver

Colorado State University

University of Northern Colorado

University of Calgary

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Little Big Horn College

Northwest College

University of Utah

Front Range Community College

RM-CESU federal partners

National Park Service

Bureau of Land Management

Geological Survey

Forest Service

Bureau of Reclamation

Natural Resources Conservation Service

Army Corps of Engineers-Civil Works

Office of Deputy Undersecretary of Defense (Installations and Environment)

Fish and Wildlife Service

See all Press Releases.

About Front Range Community College

FRCC offers nearly 100 degree and certificate programs from locations in Boulder County, Larimer County, Westminster, and Brighton, and online. FRCC is a member of the Colorado Community College System.

About the Colorado Community College System

The Colorado Community College System (CCCS) is the state’s largest system of higher education, serving more than 144,000 students annually at 13 colleges and 39 locations across Colorado. Our open access mission ensures all Coloradans who aspire to enrich their lives have access to quality higher education opportunities. CCCS students save time and money with affordable tuition and fees, concurrent enrollment, and guaranteed transfer to any public university in Colorado. Online courses are available via Colorado Community Colleges Online. CCCS also oversees career and technical programs in our 13 colleges, more than 160 school districts, and six other post-secondary institutions. By partnering with business and industry, CCCS helps employers meet workforce needs and prepares students for direct entry to their chosen career pathway. The vast majority of our students are Colorado residents and, after graduation, 97 percent of our students stay in state, becoming the workforce that powers the Colorado economy and the heart of our neighborhoods, businesses, and communities.

Related Posts